There can be a number of reasons why you would want to factory reset your iPhone. You may want to do this if you have noticed your phone beginning to slow down because of multiple apps installed. Or perhaps, you are intending to sell or give your phone to another person. Whatever the reason is, how to factory reset your iPhone is useful information you may want to remember.

A factory reset of a device, even an iPhone, means that you are deleting everything on the device and restoring it to its original setting. A factory reset will delete everything on your phone including photos, videos, contacts, account settings and even apps installed phone. After doing this, your phone will be like it was when it was first opened from the box. You will only have stock apps installed and everything else will be empty.

Now before you do a factory reset or factory restore of your iPhone, you will need to do the necessary preparations so that you can easy and seamlessly reset your phone back to its original settings.

First make sure you have a backup of everything on your phone. This means downloading your messages and contact information, your email messages and all personal files. Remember that doing this will erase all information on the phone so once you have done so, you will no longer be able to access the data. So always make sure to back up before doing the restore.

To back up your information, you can do it two ways. You can either use iCloud as a way to back up all your data or you can connect your iPhone to your computer and use iTunes to back up your data. It is highly recommended you use the second option as there is a possibility that some information doesn’t get saved right away on iCloud whereas using a PC can guarantee your data will be safe. The backup process can even save your account passwords that you have stored on your iPhone so it will be very convenient for you to restore should you need it.

Now after you have completed your back up, there are also two ways to proceed with the reset. You can either use the phone itself to reset it or you can plug the phone into a computer and reset it from there. Should you choose to reset the iPhone via a PC, it is best you make sure that you have the latest version of iTunes installed on your PC. This will ensure that the reset process will be done successfully.

VIA PC OR MAC

You can reset your iPhone by using either a PC or a Mac. What you need to do first is open your computer and open your iTunes. iTunes will most likely be found on your desktop or inside one of the programs folder. It should not be hard to find.

Next, you will need to connect your phone to your computer. Make sure that your cable is securely plugged in. If your phone is disconnected from the computer during the reset process, it may cause problems with the phone and render it unusable, so we need to be very careful.

If a message appears on your phone asking for your device passcode, go ahead and enter it. If a warning message appears asking you to Trust This Computer, go ahead and follow the online steps to allow the computer be able to manipulate the data on your phone.

On iTunes, make sure to select your iPhone as soon as it appears. If the device does not appear on iTunes, you may need to check your connection and that the iPhone is on. Once selected, go to the Summary panel and then click on Restore (device). You will be prompted if you wish to continue. Click on Restore again.

After the iPhone restores to its factory settings, it will restart. Once open, you can setup the phone as if it were brand new.

VIA THE iPHONE

You can also reset an iPhone to its factory settings via the phone itself. First of all make sure backup is already done before you proceed with the actual reset process. Also make sure to turn on the back up on your iCloud by going to your settings menu and selecting iCloud. From there you can turn on the items you would like backed up.

To start the reset process, go back to the main menu of your settings. From there select General and then tap the Reset button at the bottom of the page. You will then be presented with several options on resetting your phone. From here you can decide to either reset location and privacy, reset your Home screen layout, reset your keyboard dictionary, reset network settings or erase all content and settings. What we want to do is a full factory reset. To do so, click on the Reset All Settings button.

Once you click this, the phone will prompt again whether or not you wish to proceed with the reset process. From here you may click on the red Erase Phone option that pops up at the bottom of your screen. Please take note that after clicking on that option, there is no turning back and all your information and applications will be deleted.

Once you click on the Erase Phone option, the phone will begin to reset all the information. It will begin to erase all data such as your contact information, your account details for various accounts set up on the phone (iCloud, Gmail, Yahoo, etc.), your message history, your emails if any, your personal photos and videos as well. Nothing will be left on the phone. This process may take up to several minutes to complete before the phone restarts.

Once the process is complete you will be presented with the iOS Setup Assistant upon startup. From this point, you can restore your existing backup information on iCloud or you can continue as if setting up a brand new phone.

NO COMMENTS

LEAVE A REPLY